Twenty-four College Students are Declared Winners of the National Academic Competition in Economics and the National Forum on Economics and Finance

The 2019 Manuel Ramírez Gómez National Academic Competition in Economics (CANE) and the National Forum on Economics and Finance for 2019 and 2020, organized by the Universidad del Rosario, awarded prizes to 24 students from various universities for their initiatives to promote an exchange of knowledge and experience in economics.

The event was held online and chaired by Leonardo Villar, Governor of *Banco de la República*, and José Alejandro Cheyne, Chancellor of the Universidad del Rosario. They were accompanied by Carlos Sepúlveda, Dean of Economics at the Universidad del Rosario; Pilar Esguerra, Director of the Department of Communication and Economic Education; and María Teresa Ramírez, a senior researcher at *Banco de la República*, who represented her father, Manuel Ramírez Gómez, for whom CANE is named.

Thirty-five Colombian universities took part in the 2019 National Academic Competition in Economics, in addition to one Mexican institution (Centro de Investigación y Docencia Económicas de México) and a Peruvian university (Universidad del Pacífico de Perú). CANE is an academic initiative of the Student Council of the Universidad del Rosario School of Economics and is intended to create opportunities and instances to enrich knowledge about economics with students from other universities.

On this occasion, awards were presented to the 2019 CANE winners, since the 2020 competition had to be postponed because of the worldwide health emergency caused by the Covid-19 pandemic.

The winners were:

First place: Universidad de los Andes

- Juan Pablo Gutiérrez Puerto
- Santiago Torres Paz
- David Enrique Arboleda Cárcamo
- Valentina Cepeda Vega
- Ana Salazar Londoño

Second place: Universidad Nacional de Colombia (Bogotá campus)

- Daniel Felipe Díaz Casas
- Juan Felipe Herrera Sarmiento
- Jhan Jhailer Andrade Portela
- Laura Sofía Pérez Madera
- María Carolina Arcila Posada

Third place: Universidad del Rosario

- Sarah Garcés Anzola
- Laura Natalia Capacho Camacho
- Diana Carolina Sanabria Flórez

- Andrés Sebastián Salazar Mejía
- Jerónimo Isaza Díaz

The National Economics Forum awarded prizes in the senior, junior and critical opinion categories (2019), and in the categories on public policy proposal and hypothetical case analysis (2020). Besides being a position paper competition that is open to all students in the country, its objective is to be a conducive and rigorous instance for academic discussion that fosters an investigative spirit among undergraduate students.

The winners of the 2019 Forum were:

Junior Category (Universidad Nacional - Medellín Campus)

• Nicolás Álvarez Bernal

Senior Category (Universidad de los Andes)

- Rafael Torres Gaviria
- Santiago Torres Paz

Critical Opinion Category (Pontificia Universidad Javeriana)

• Germán Nicolás Sanabria Sánchez

The winners of the 2020 Forum were:

Hypothetical Case Analysis Category (Universidad del Rosario)

• Silvia Alejandra Ortiz Merchán

Public Policy Proposal Category (Universidad del Rosario)

- Sarah Garcés Anzola
- Óscar Guillermo García Rivas
- María Camila Jiménez Medina
- Juan Sebastián Lima Alfonso

Link		
Broadcast of the awards ceremony Publication Date:		
Publication Date:		
Tuesday, March 9, 2021 - 12:00		
1 desday, Waren 9, 2021 - 12.00		
Hour		
16:05		
• Print		
1		
l .		